CHOICE OF THE WEEK: Learn more about Canadian animals at the BWG Library

From bird watching to whale watching, the BWG library has everything you need to learn more about animals

With so many animal lovers in our community, this week’s list is a tour of some of Canada’s beloved animals. From bird watching to whale watching, you can explore nature in the comfort of your own home with these beautiful books from the BWG library.

If you need help finding the perfect book, let the BWG Library know! Message them via Facebook at or email them at [email protected] If you create a delicious dish with your feed, share a photo or video of the creation with the BWG community by sharing it on the BWG Library Facebook page or sending it to the library via Messenger!

Piglet: The Unexpected Story of a Blind Deaf Pink Puppy and His Family, by Melissa Shapiro

In the tradition of ‘Marley and I’ and ‘Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love’, ‘Piglet’ is a charming and inspiring memoir on empathy, resilience, kindness and a lovable deaf blind pink dog. .

North American Bird Families, by Pete Dunne and Kevin T. Karlson

‘Bird Families of North America’ takes readers beyond simply identifying birds to understanding them. The species-by-species approach makes it difficult to appreciate birds for what they are: members of well-organized groups united by common traits. Focusing on families and their common characteristics makes identifying birds easier and more meaningful. Over 150 color photos illustrate the 81 bird families of the United States and Canada.

Death of a Whale: The Challenge of Anti-Whaling and Indigenous Rights Activists, by Paul Watson

“Death of a Whale” is a detailed account of how the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society fights to defend and protect our oceans from human predators who hunt and murder whales and other aquatic marine mammals under the false pretense of Indigenous rights. Captain Paul Watson is a marine conservation ecologist. A direct descendant of Chief Henri Membertou (1490-1560) of the Mi’kmaq First Nations, Watson was born in Toronto and raised in St. Andrews-by-The Sea, New Brunswick.

The Ride of a Lifetime: The True Story of a Woman, Her Horse, and Their Last Chance Journey Across America, by Elizabeth Letts

“The Ride of Her Life” is the triumphant true story of a woman who crossed America on horseback in the 1950s, fulfilling her last wish to see the Pacific Ocean. From the author of “The Perfect Horse”, which won the PEN Award for Research Nonfiction, and “Finding Dorothy”.


Source link